Iluka's Board is comprised currently of six members. Ms Susan Wilson is the Company Secretary to the Board with Mr Nigel Tinley who also acts as Company Secretary in the position of Joint Company Secretary.

Board of Directors 


Greg Martin



Mr Martin was appointed to the Board in January 2013 and as Chairman in December 2013. He has over 35 years’ experience in the energy, utility and infrastructure sectors, having spent 25 years with the Australian Gas Light Company Ltd (AGL), including five years as CEO and Managing Director. After leaving AGL, Mr Martin was CEO of the infrastructure division of Challenger Financial Services Group and, subsequently, Managing Director of Murchison Metals Limited. He is currently Chairman of Sydney Desalination Plant Pty Limited and Deputy Board Chair of Western Power. Mr Martin previously served as Chairman of Prostar Investments (Australia) Pty Ltd and as a non-executive Director of Santos Ltd. 

Mr Martin is an independent non-executive Director and is Chairman of the Board and the Nominations Committee. He is also a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and the People and Performance Committee.

Tom O'Leary, CEO and MD (Sep 2016)Tom O'Leary

LLB, B.Juris

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Mr O'Leary joined the Board in October 2016 after his appointment as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Iluka Resources Limited. He was previously Managing Director of Wesfarmers Chemicals, Energy and Fertilisers division having been appointed to the role in 2010. Mr O'Leary joined Wesfarmers' in 2000 in a Business Development role and was then appointed to Managing Director, Wesfarmers Energy in 2009. Prior to joining Wesfarmers, Mr O'Leary worked in London for 10 years in finance law, investment banking and private equity. Mr O'Leary holds a law degree from The University of Western Australia and has completed the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School. He is a director of the Clontarf Foundation, having been appointed in 2006.

Marcelo Bastos

Mechanical Engineering (UFMG), MBA (FDC-MG), MAICD

Mr Bastos was appointed to the Board in February 2014. Until August 2017, Marcelo was the Chief Operating Officer of the global resources company, MMG Limited, with responsibility for operations in three continents. He has extensive experience in major projects development and operation, and company management in the metals and mining industry (iron ore, gold, copper, nickel and coal sectors). Mr Bastos also served as the Chief Executive Officer of BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance (BMA), President of Nickel West (BHP Billiton), President and Chief Operating Officer of Cerro Matoso and Nickel Americas (BHP Billiton) and had a 19 year career with Vale (CVRD) in senior management and operational positions, the last of those as Director of Non Ferrous Operations. He is currently a non-executive Director of Aurizon Holdings Limited and Golder Associates. He was a former non-executive Director of Golding Contractors Pty Ltd, and a former member of the Western Australia Chamber of Mines and Energy and served as Vice President of the Queensland Resources Council.

Mr Bastos is an independent non-executive Director and is a member of the Audit and Risk Committee and Nominations Committee.

XiaolingLuiXiaoling Liu


Dr Liu was appointed to the Board in February 2016. She is a former President and Chief Executive Officer of Rio Tinto Minerals, and is currently a non-executive Director of Newcrest Mining Limited, South 32 and Board member of Melbourne Business School. Dr Liu's previous non-executive roles included: Board member of the California Chamber of Commerce; Vice President of the Board of Australian Aluminium Council and member of the University Council of the University of Tasmania. Over Dr Liu's twenty six years with the Rio Tinto Group she held various positions in smelting operational management through to President and CEO of Rio Tinto Minerals. Prior to joining Rio Tinto, she worked as a Research Fellow of City University (London).

Dr Liu  is an independent non-executive Director and is a member of Iluka's Audit and Risk Committee and the Nominations Committee.

James (Hutch) Ranck


Chairman of the People and Performance Committee

Mr Ranck was appointed to the Board in January 2013. He has held senior management positions with DuPont, both in Australia and internationally in finance, chemicals, pharmaceuticals and agriculture for over 30 years. He also served as a director of DuPont’s Hong Kong based subsidiary, Titanium Technologies, for seven years.  Mr Ranck retired as Managing Director of DuPont Australia and New Zealand and Group Managing Director of DuPont ASEAN in May 2010.  He is Chairman of Elders Limited and a director of CSIRO.

Mr Ranck is an independent non-executive Director and is Chairman of the People and Performance Committee.  He is also a member of Iluka's Audit and Risk Committee and the Nominations Committee.

Jenny Seabrook


Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee

Ms Seabrook was appointed to the Board in May 2008. She is a Special Advisor to Gresham Partners Limited and also a non-executive Director of IRESS Ltd, MMG Limited, Australian Rail Track Corporation and the Western Australian Treasury Corporation. Ms Seabrook was formerly a member of the Takeovers Panel (2000 to 2012), and previous directorships include being a non-executive Director of Export Finance and Insurance Corporation, Amcor Limited, Bank of Western Australia Limited, West Australian Newspapers Holdings Limited, Australian Postal Corporation, AlintaGas and Western Power. In her executive career Ms Seabrook worked at senior levels in chartered accounting, capital markets and investment banking businesses.

Ms Seabrook is an independent non-executive Director and is Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee. She is also a member of the People and Performance Committee and Nominations Committee.